Disappearing Pygmy Corys

Gabs19

So we had 3 Pygmy corys in our tank for about 10 months and few weeks ago we realized we couldn’t find 2 of them anymore. We have a 10 gallon tank and we examined every nook and cranny and they’re just gone. We figured maybe they got old and died. We bought a few more 2 weeks ago and the same thing happened! Only one is left. Water parameters are fine and everybody else in the tank is doing fine and behaving normally. Any theories? Is it possible they’re getting eaten? We have 8 tetras (glow light and cardinal), a clown pleco, a kuhli loach, and several mystery snails. 

I am no expert here... but my luck with corydoras is unfortunately about 50% loss, even after quarantine and transferring to the display tank I end up loosing one or two. I suspect yours have died and have been eaten by the pleco and/or mystery snail. I love Cory's and I've resorted to over buying with anticipation of losing about half.

Please list out everything you can test for, Temperature, and let's talk through your tank setup.

PH and Temp are often the triggers for jumping.  Please check the sides and back of the tank, under the stand, etc and see if they happened to get out that way.

Secondly, I would remove all hardscape, artificial decor, and then go ahead and check substrate. Sometimes you'll siphon up a chunk of something and not realize what it was. It happens, especially on large tanks, unfortunately.

Once we understand what things look like, then we can try to figure stuff out and explain potential solutions.

On 11/21/2022 at 9:41 PM, Rita said:

I am no expert here... but my luck with corydoras is unfortunately about 50% loss, even after quarantine and transferring to the display tank I end up loosing one or two. I suspect yours have died and have been eaten by the pleco and/or mystery snail. I love Cory's and I've resorted to over buying with anticipation of losing about half.

If there's any way I can help please let me know.