Is it possible to sanitize second-hand stratum to reuse?

eyeebrows

Back again with another newbie question. I'm sorry if I didn't put this in the right category..I wasn't sure. 

I recently got a second hand 33g tank and the lady gave me a hefty amount of either fluval stratum or something similar in looks (she didn't say). I'd really hate to throw it out because jeez is it a lot of it, but I'm also hesitant to use it. Is trying to clean this stuff a good idea? How do I even go about it? I've never used this stuff before. I've noticed some people saying you can gently rinse it, but others saying it's a terrible idea to. 

Thanks in advance for any feedback.