Struggling with high PH and ammonia

Sultrysamurai

Hello, I’m new at this and trying to do this right. I couldn’t locate resources on here about how to manage the PH levels and ammonia levels.
If anyone has advice for a newbie that would be great.

i have a 10gallon new tank that has been cycling ( not even sure if I’m doing this correctly) for 3 weeks.
No fish in the tank but I did put plants from Aquarium coOp.
I have a sponge filter and sand substrate, LED lights and 4 plants. Testing PH and ammonia and both are high. I added Catappa leaves with no help. 

I added the all in one fertilizer and a root cap fertilizer last Friday to help the plants. 

PH is  7.8 and ammonia is .50PP 

Temp stays between 68 and 75

The plants do not look well. 

This is becoming a bit more then I bargained for, so any guidance is appreciated. Thank you. 

I do want a betta fish and some shrimp if I ever get the water to safe levels.. that’s my end goal haha. 

Edited by Sultrysamurai
Spelling
  • Like 1

Starting with the ammonia question, this video is so good at breaking down what is happening with water chemistry in new tanks

Driftwood and leaves help lower pH.  Don't worry about the pH yet.  Focus on getting through the nitrogen cycle and then you can work on pH.  If you try to work on it now and end up doing water changes, the pH is going to go back up with the addition of tap water back to the tank.

Edited by Chick-In-Of-TheSea
  • Thanks 1

On 9/14/2022 at 2:12 PM, Sultrysamurai said:

Thank you! The ammonia came back as .50pp. Which everything online said was too high for fish. 
I may just be too eager for the cycling process to be complete. 

Happens to all of us!  Some things you can do to speed it up are to use some filter media, decor, and/or substrate from an established tank.  Or you can use bacteria in a bottle.  I like Fritz Zyme 7.

Edited by Chick-In-Of-TheSea
  • Thanks 1

On 9/14/2022 at 1:12 PM, Sultrysamurai said: