Dorm tank Journal

This has been a pretty eventful week as I just moved into my dorm after transfering universities. This has been a great and terrible time. College is fun, exciting and terrifying. Being 300 miles away from my family outways being 300 miles away from my fish tanks. But, while I can't bring a tiny version of my parents, i can bring a tiny version of my fish tanks.

The dorm allows tanks up to 5 gallons, but i don't play by the rules so i got a 5.5. Now a 5 gallon tank is gonna have to be pretty awesome to make up for the 5 tanks I'm leaving behind. So, for starters, I decided to do a dirted tank. Mainly because I have never done one before. My understanding is one of the main downsides of a dirted tank is that you have to tear it down after 12 months or so, but i have to tear this tank down anyway in 8 months. Since i have to tear down this tank in 8 months, i have to do something to jumpstart the plants, since I don't want to tear down the tank once it starts looking good. Hopefully the dirt does this.