New hobbyist - carnage after treating with ich x

Terri57

Hi,

I'm new to the hobby. Started with a 3.5 gallon with a betta first for a few months, which went fine. Got a snail tank-mate for him, which was fine for a few weeks. Water parameters seem good (0, 0, 10). Started a bigger 14 gallon recently, cycled the water (same parameters) and added 5 neon tetras, 3 albino cory cats and 3 endler live bearers. 

Six/7 days ago I noticed 1 white spot on one neon and 2 on another. Watched it for 2 days and no change so I thought it was stress ich from the big move. The next day, 3 neons had multiple spots, so I began the Ich X treatment as directed on the bottle and in Aquarium Co-Op videos. Saw noted improvement in the spots, BUT:

-One neon continued to have 1-2 spots after five days of treatment

-I successfully cross contaminated my betta tank, and then HE had 2 spots, labored breathing and lethargy, so I treated his tank for 2 days (he seems better).

-I asked about combining the 2 tanks since I was treating them both, it was taking me, a beginner, HOURS every morning to do so, and my hands were raw from continuous washing so as not to continue cross contamination. I was told it was ok to do, so now the betta is in the big tank.

-In the last 3 days I have lost 4 of the 5 neons (I can't find one of the missing ones!), and my snail is no longer doing well. My cats were very lethargic throughout treatment but now, since I put the charcoal filter back in, they seem better.

I just don't know what to do now? I have the sick snail back in the 3.5 gallon for fear that he may contaminate the big tank further with whatever he has. I'm down to one lonely neon who, I assume, will die soon without his neon buddies and stressed out as a result.