Mysterious Pygmy Corydoras death?

lynxfishy

Hello everyone, I am fairly new to the fish keeping hobby and earlier in the year I set up a 10 gallon planted tank. I let it cycle for a month and begin adding fish in different waves--adding some fish, then waiting a couple weeks before adding more fish. After a couple months of slowly adding fish and testing the water to make sure there was no ammonia spikes I finally have all of my stocking. I currently have a dwarf powder blue gourami, 7 neon tetras (got an extra one from the store thinking they wouldn't all make it back/through quarantine, I was wrong lol), and 5 pygmy corydoras. I recently lost a pymgy cory, and I am really unsure as of why. The water tested fine, no ammonia or nitrite, I have a sponge filter along with a regular HOB filter so the water should have enough oxygen, and I didn't see anything particularly weird about the dead pygmy. All of my other fish are healthy/acting normal. There was some red on the dead pygmy's underside though? But by the time I found him my dwarf gourami could have nipped at the corpse? He has never been aggressive to the other fish, but he does love eating. Any help on the topic would be greatly appreciated. I've attached a current picture of my tank incase it would be helpful. 

IMG_5086.png

On 7/21/2022 at 12:24 PM, lynxfishy said: