Snail shells

CJs Aquatics

You could set up a small feeding area? It wouldn't fix the problem but may help reduce it... 

They sell little glass dishes for shrimp tanks- plop it in full of snails and pull the dish and shells out when done. To reduce the number of snails that get away from the dish, you could put a slice of cucumber in it to keep them on it. 

This works great when I feed messier foods that are not consumed in entirety... I've got no experience with puffers, however, so if the fish themselves are dragging the snails away this probably won't work. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 8/28/2022 at 11:35 PM, asondhi said:

You could set up a small feeding area? It wouldn't fix the problem but may help reduce it... 

They sell little glass dishes for shrimp tanks- plop it in full of snails and pull the dish and shells out when done. To reduce the number of snails that get away from the dish, you could put a slice of cucumber in it to keep them on it. 

This works great when I feed messier foods that are not consumed in entirety... I've got no experience with puffers, however, so if the fish themselves are dragging the snails away this probably won't work. 

This is good advice. I’ve done something similar in other tanks and it admittedly might have to be adjusted slightly because of the way this guy eats but I appreciate that bc honestly I didn’t think to try something like that with him, might make things a bit cleaner.

• Like 1

On 8/28/2022 at 4:07 PM, Scapexghost said:

Not sure but i will say that they are slightly beneficial to the tank, unless you have rediculously hard water.

I have nails and bolts coming out with my tap water. Is that considered hard?

On 8/28/2022 at 4:10 PM, CJs Aquatics said:

Pretty hard water here in Ohio lol.  Considered repurposing them when I figure out how to remove them for other applications but currently they are super unsightly in the tank I’m most proud of