Resealing Aquariums - removing silicone inside the rim

braids

I am resealing a 55 gallon aquarium. It held water but all the silicone is gone on the corners. So for safety sake I'm resealing. This is the second time I've resealed a tank, but it was awhile ago.

I don't want to do extra work that isn't necessary because I have really bad hands.

I've removed the upright corners and am getting ready to remove the bottom, which looks great but I know I have to do that.

My question is, is it imperative for me to remove the silicone at the top of the tank under the rim?

If you reply, please include your qualifications for answering the question (I've been resealing tanks for decades, I'm an aquarium builder, etc). 

Thanks!                   

On 9/26/2020 at 5:09 PM, braids said:

I am resealing a 55 gallon aquarium. It held water but all the silicone is gone on the corners. So for safety sake I'm resealing. This is the second time I've resealed a tank, but it was awhile ago.

I don't want to do extra work that isn't necessary because I have really bad hands.

I've removed the upright corners and am getting ready to remove the bottom, which looks great but I know I have to do that.

My question is, is it imperative for me to remove the silicone at the top of the tank under the rim?

If you reply, please include your qualifications for answering the question (I've been resealing tanks for decades, I'm an aquarium builder, etc). 

Thanks!