Shredded Betta Fins- I don't know what is wrong and I need help (head's up, long post!)

BeetleLann

Hello everyone!

First, I'd like to say thank you to Aquarium Co-op for creating this forum 🙂

I am relatively new to the hobby and I know I still have a lot of learn, so I'd like to ask for some help from people who are experienced in betta care.

I have joined CARE because posting on social media groups is not helping me solve my fish problem. I have also spoken to the staff at my local aquarium store, and they have reassured me that I'm following the proper care procedures, so I feel a bit stuck, frustrated and at a loss.

Anyways, enough with the preamble- my betta's fins look mighty rough. I do not think fin rot or disease are causing the issue only because I have been attempting to treat the issue for several months now and they still look miserable.

Below is a somewhat chronological list of my adventures with this hobby and trying to help my betta (I'm sorry it is so long, I just want to give as best of a description as possible of what I've been doing so everyone reading understands what is going on):

• Back story- I have owned 3 bettas in 5 years: one was adopted from a former roommate and he passed after about a year or so, then I took in another betta for about 2-3 years before he passed. Both were homed in a small 1G tank and did fine.

• In January, I was feeling lonely after the passing of my second betta in December, so I purchased a new little guy. He was kinda homely when I got him, but the important thing is that his fins were healthy. My new guy was introduced to the 1G (which was sanitized before adding the new fish), and he lived there for a few months.