Filter Sizing Help

JDP

Good afternoon all. I’m new to the hobby after taking a 25 year break and things sure have changed. I have a 55gallon that has 1 shabunkin, 1 Black Moore, and 2 Koi (4-5”). I know I need a bigger tank for the koi but my neighbor asked if could hold onto them for a bit as he’s going through some medical issues and will be gone. I’m trying to decide on an FX2 or an FX4 for a canister filter as the HOBs aren’t enough for these guys. I know flow is adjustable on both, but with koi being notoriously dirty, do I need the larger filter capacity? The only fish I worry about with flow is my black Moore. I started with her and the Shabunkin and wasn’t  planning on holding the Koi. Any advice would be appreciated.  ** photo was taken before I added an second HOB because of the KOI**  the Hobs are topfin 75’s with a advertised flow of 400 each which is an absurd lie  

IMG_2645.jpeg

Edited by JDP
  • Love 1

On 9/25/2024 at 3:34 PM, mynameisnobody said:

FX4 for less maintenance, FX2 for much more maintenance. Either will do, but how much effort are you willing to put into this is the real question. 

I’m not opposed to maintenance as it’s certainly required to keep our babies healthy but if there is a way to reduce the amount I’m all for that as well. Would the FX4 just blow the Moore around the tank? I haven’t heard many good things about spray bars. 

• Like 1

What did the neighbor have the fish in? How long do you plan on fish sitting? Could you just use his filter. In a 55 you are going to be doing a lot of water changes no matter what filter you get. It might be better to bring his whole setup to your place. If your not keeping the Koi then all you need is a 407 and that is big for a 55gal you will just have to keep up with your water changes. your talking about a big block in a VW bug😁 I don't understand buying a big filter just to turn it down.

• Like 2

On 9/25/2024 at 6:34 PM, mynameisnobody said: