Picking a C02 System?

So I am completely new to C02 but I am tired of algae in my tank and I want to grow more plants. I'm currently running a Fluval 3.0 on a 55g sand substrate.

I am more so getting this to make the algae a little less of a problem, but also because I can tell my plants are just not thriving.

Regardless there are just SO many options, I think i've decided between C02Art or GLA, leaning towards GLA but regardless both sites have SO many options (Like a bunch of manifolds/etc...? not sure what benefit those give).

I don't need something super duper high tech. I want to do a low and slow thing since I don't really plan on growing SUPER demanding plants. However I am just a bit overwhelmed at the different options.

So I guess C02Art vs GLA? and If so what "full system" should I go with a for a 55gallon tank.

I just recently got a co2 art regulator as my first. I’m liking it and my plants are growing stupid fast. I don’t think there’s really a bad option between the two. Whichever route you take I think a two stage regulator is the way to go. Make sure you have a way to check co2 concentration like a drop checker and take it super slow when dialing it in. I had a close call when I first installed it a few weeks back and ramped things up too fast. Luckily I was watching my tank and noticed what was going on pretty quick. I’d try to dial it in over a few days where you’re home if possible, and avoid making an adjustment and walking away. 

On 9/4/2024 at 10:24 PM, Mercfh said:

both sites have SO many options (Like a bunch of manifolds/etc...? not sure what benefit those give).

The manifolds allow you to have more than 1 bubble counter which allows a single regulator to split to more than 1 tank…. Ie I have 1 regulator that has 3 bubble counters on it allowing me to set three separate flow rates to three different tanks.  If you are only having 1 tank, there is no need for this.