Not feeding during initial quarantine?

I juat got some long fin white cloud minnows and I have them in a quarantine tank with the med trio.  Can they really go a week without eating after a day traveling ... so 8 days total?

I'm new to this but it seems linke a long time to have them go without food.  What is the reason behind not feeding during this time?

On 8/29/2024 at 7:33 AM, rydin4life said:

Can they really go a week without eating after a day traveling ... so 8 days total?

Short answer. Usually not going to be much problem. But, it depends on the condition of the fish. If they come in hungry looking with sunken bellies, I would feed them. There is a risk for underfed animals. They could further deteriorate and you could lose them. 

the theory on not feeding during quarantine meds is to keep ammonia down with meds in the tank. Keeping them safer. 
now in all honesty, I never use quarantine meds unless I see there is a problem. But I keep them in quarantine for about a month. Observation is better to me than just using meds prophylactically. And when I see an issue, then I treat. 

as for fasting fish. For a week with no food. I haven’t had any issues. I usually do that for vacation. Much better than having an inexperienced person feeding your fish 

• Like 2

Thanks @Tony s - I do have a filter in my quarantine tank that I set up with some filter "squeezings" from an established tank so there should be some bacteria in there.  I also have Seachem Prime in there as well....hopefully that will handle any ammonia issues.  Of course I'll monitor and test the water, but just wanted to be sure that feeding wouldn't cause any complications with the meds.

• Like 1

I QT with the med trio. Personally, I don’t feed for the first 4-5 days. Then I feed lightly, and increase that over the remaining weeks (4-6 total) they are in QT.