fish bridge unequal tanks question

Kayrose

I am putting together a couple of tanks to be joined with a fish bridge.  I have a 20 gallon long tank, a 10 gallon standard tank.  My tube is 4 inches in diameter by 36 inches long with bilateral elbows.  The question I have is this:  Will having one tank being 20 gallons and the other tan 10, will I end up with no negative pressure or if I do, will it all empty into one of the tanks leaving me in a drowning mess?  Im not a rocket scientist and physics isn't something I ever took in school.  Please advise, if possible.

I don't know if this will be an issue for you or not: volume of cylinder formula gives a rough volume for your bridge of around 2 gallons. If your bridge loses its seal, and the water in it empties into one or both tanks, will one or both overflow? 

So a much shorter tube.  Or some kind of emergency run off that my partner won't kill me over.  She's let me put 2 in her room 3 in my room. Now this experiment....near her antique furniture in the living room! I can't have a disaster. 

You will have to raise the 10 gallon up on something about 2” high or the water will flow from the 20 into the 10.  That will likely look better, too, since the top line of the tanks will then be at the same level.  Otherwise, you will have to run the water level of the 20 long down by at least 2”.

After that, as long as you leave yourself enough room at the top of each tank, you shouldn’t have an issue.  A 20 long is 12” high so with 2” of substrate that makes it roughly a gallon per 1/2” of height.  The 10 G will be about 1/2 gallon per 1/2”.  Keep the water level no higher than 3/4” below the rim (assuming your tanks are nice and level and top rims are at equal height) and you should be fine.  The entire volume of the bridge won’t drain down, only the part above the water levels in the tanks.