Help with IDing cause of cherry shrimp death

jlothethird

Hi, I'm pretty new to Cherry shrimp and had a bunch die at first, probably from too aggressive of water changes, and then haven't had any deaths for a few weeks until today. At first I thought it was white ring of death/failed molt, but then I saw a white spot on the side of its head and I'm not so sure. Could this be a sign of infection or parasites?

KH 3

GH 5 or 6

Ph 6.8

Ammonia/nitrites and nitrates are all 0 (planted tank with only a few shrimp in it, so the plants are keeping up with the nitrates).

Any help would be great, I'm starting to get a bit discouraged

PXL_20240717_171012066.jpg

PXL_20240717_173436713.jpg

I should add I feed five to six times a week alternating between crab cuisine and shrimp cuisine only as much as they'll eat that day

This white spot between the eyes could be scutariella japonica. I’ve personally dealt with it in my shrimp colony. 
IMG_8188.jpeg.5a84bf9344a49ab3f1c65f7e9f09f7f4.jpeg

What it is, is a type of flatworm. Break out the magnifying glass or, I used an app called Magnifier on my iPhone and inspect your other shrimp. See if they have similar issues between the eyes, look closely and you will see these things wiggle around. It is very common in Neocaridina shrimp. Left untreated, they work their way into the gills and can kill the shrimp.

There are multiple methods to treat it. I tried 3. The first was salt dips. Not only was this tedious to do every time I saw an affected shrimp, but it was stressful for me and highly stressful for the shrimp (they’d roll over on their side and just lay there after a few second in the dip. For me it caused such panic, and I hated it!). Additionally, I felt it was a bandaid fix because I don’t think it did anything about the Scutariella Japonica eggs.