How do I change my filter cartridge the RIGHT way?

So, I have been changing my fish tank filters for almost 2 years now but, do I stick the cartridge in front of the old one or……I just don’t want to kill the bacteria in the cartridge. I have to change the cartridge tomorrow…advice? Gotta hang on back filter that comes with the topfin 5 gallon kit. Please help.

• Like 1

On 2/2/2024 at 7:44 PM, AllFishNoBrakes said:

Ditch the cartridges and go with a coarse sponge pad instead that can be cleaned out and will last 10 years+

Yes I agree It saves you money. 

On 2/2/2024 at 7:29 PM, Bigdog99 said:

So, I have been changing my fish tank filters for almost 2 years now but, do I stick the cartridge in front of the old one or……I just don’t want to kill the bacteria in the cartridge. I have to change the cartridge tomorrow…advice? Gotta hang on back filter that comes with the topfin 5 gallon kit. Please help.

• Like 2

On 2/2/2024 at 7:44 PM, AllFishNoBrakes said:

Ditch the cartridges and go with a coarse sponge pad instead that can be cleaned out and will last 10 years+

Sooo u just put inside the filter like the other one right….I have a year supply of cartridges sooo I prob will wait as I need to change tomorrow. Advice on how..

On 2/2/2024 at 7:49 PM, Tlindsey said:

Yes I agree It saves you money. 

Could u gimme a link? Of this cartridge pad thing…

• Like 1

On 2/2/2024 at 7:55 PM, Bigdog99 said:

Sooo u just put inside the filter like the other one right….I have a year supply of cartridges sooo I prob will wait as I need to change tomorrow. Advice on how..

Could u gimme a link? Of this cartridge pad thing…

There are several brands

https://www.petco.com/shop/en/petcostore/product/imagitarium-2-pack-filter-sponges

• Like 1

On 2/2/2024 at 8:04 PM, Tlindsey said:

Yes I would place the new cartridge in front of old. You may have enough beneficial bacteria in your filter to not affect anything. 

On 2/2/2024 at 8:05 PM, Bigdog99 said: