My Ikebana and Nature Style Aquariums

Miranda Marie

Hello, everyone! This is my first attempt at a journal, and it's likely going to involve updates on both my current aquariums: a 20 gallon long I have had for the last three years, and a newer (six months old but recently rescaped) 6 gallon cube purchase.

The 20 gallon long has undergone a huge amount of changes since it was first set up, and is currently rocking a natural, messy style that I'm pretty in love with. It's been a long time getting it to a place where I adore it, and right now, I'm thoroughly enjoying it.

After the (wild and fun) journey of learning curves and rescapes of the twenty gallon long, my sister and I recently decided to get a second, smaller tank to try a vastly different style of aquascaping. In particular, we wanted to create an aquarium based on the ikebana style of bowl-gardens/flower arrangements. So we purchased a dishwasher/microwave/oven/freezer safe bowl, filled it with seachem flourite, and ordered every kind of crypt that Aquarium Co-op sells (which were in stock at the time of placing the order). It will be stocked with a single female galaxy koi bettafish who is presently chilling in the quarantine tub while her palace gets finishing touches. We're using an Aquarium co-op sponge filter and heater, which are going to be hidden nicely behind the bowl. (Presently the sponge filter is in the quarantine tub with the betta, so a hang on back filter is running on her tank.)

Now just to wait for the plants to finish adjusting to our water and grow in! (And play with the small wood pieces until I am satisfied with their placement 😆)

Let me know what you guys think!

20221110_175757-01-01.jpeg

20221110_171307-01.jpeg

Edited by Miranda Marie
Clarification :)
  • Like 3
  • Love 7

On 11/11/2022 at 2:21 AM, Miranda Marie said: