Opinions on best vaccum/siphon?

Sultrysamurai

I have brown algae in a new tank. Still no fish. Only plants. I lessened the light hours and it seems to have increased the algae. 
I am very new to water changes and the best siphons and / or vacuums to do this. There is a lot of mixed opinions online and I trust you all more. Before I make another mistake…

what is the best siphon/vac for water changes and how often should I do them for brown algae? 

Setup: 10 gallon. Sponge filter. Liveplants. Lights on for 10 hours. No fish but lots of brown algae. 

thank you! 

10 hours is still high for algae, especially if you have some kind of plant light. Turning it down likely didn't increase growth, it has just done little to stop it, and changes like that can take a week or more to see algae dying off. I'd recommend 6-8 for now, and that can go up as the plants grow or once fish are in it and there is less for the algae to eat and fish to potentially eat the algae. 

As far as siphons go I have had the same cheap syphon from PetSmart with a little hand pump to get the siphon started for about 12 years. It works fine. Maybe  a little slow as my tanks have gotten larger over the years at right around 1 g/min ish but I find it fine and it has the reach to gravel vac and a long hose on the other side to reach the bucket.
image.png.adc3c258edbe83a09751b794e3e36da3.png

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Screenshot_2022-09-18-18-25-26-68_b5f6883d2c20a96c53babc0b4ac88108.jpg.3476b52277c55b87149cff58d313ce30.jpgI  ( as of today) have two one is a fluval had it about 10 years got given it by someone who's new tank was to tall for it to be practical.

And the one I got to today was cheap tiny extendable one which I got because quick tidies round plants are impossible with the larger one

Screenshot_2022-09-18-18-26-04-99_40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg

Edited by Flumpweesel
Photo nonsense
  • Thanks 1