Strategies for moving fish from a community breeding tank?

lewk

Hey all,

I'm pretty new to fishkeeping and breeding fish, so I have a newbie question: How should I go about thinning out fish from a community tank? I have Endlers breeding in a community tank and the population is exploding to the point that it's looking pretty crowded. I was hoping to eventually sell or swap some of these fish, but right now I don't have enough mature fish to move - just a ton of fry and juveniles. I do have an extra tank or two to house extras in temporarily, but I'm concerned that a growout tank will just turn into another community breeding tank rather quickly with these things. I've tried moving some extra males to a male-only tank, but it's been hard to catch them as males showing sexual characteristics are a fairly small percent of the population. 

I'd love to hear tips from more experienced breeders. What is your process for separating fish from community breeding tanks, especially with fish such as Endlers or Guppies?

• Like 1

I have this dilemma with my CPD's. I have several fry growing up, but not enough adults to sell off. Here are some options:

1) I use a plastic tub as my quarantine for new fish and a grow-out when I don't have any new fish. It is functional but an eyesore. This may prevent you from just turning it into another community tank by using something that works for the short term, but ultimately you'll take down because it's not great to look at. After they grow out and you take it down, you can just use the box to store other fish stuff and use it as a quarantine when something gets sick or you get new fish.