PROJECT YAVIN: Directional Schooling in a Nano Tank?

Bill Smith

Don't try this at home.
Don't alert the fish police.
Whatever you do, don't feed them after midnight.

Look, I've been keeping fish for over 30 years. I like a challenge every now and then, and I need something to help with the occasional boredom. So watch me crash and burn attempt to run a large school of nano fish in a 5 gallon tank, hoping to get them all moving in a single direction around a center island.

Why is it a challenge? It's going to be especially difficult because I intend to introduce enough nano fish (probably ember tetras, also considering chili rasboras) to get them to school in a continuous direction. That will likely require dozens, if not more. It breaks all the rules for nano tanks, and guarantees I will be a slave to this thing on a bi-daily basis as long as it is place. Other than that, should be a snap! 😉

That's the plan, anyway. So let's talk about the setup.

(All links are non-affiliate.)

TANK

I started with a Fluval Chi 5 gallon tank, simply because I've never played with it before.

spacer.png 

This tank presented several challenges that I didn't see coming, and I had to adapt to them pretty quickly. But I chose it because Fluval glass always seems to be clearer than most, and the sharp edges also reduce distortion. That's also is why I didn't opt for a cylindrical tank or one with curved corners, such as the Marineland Portrait.

I was also limited by my bedroom nightstand space, otherwise I might have been tempted to use the Aqueon 15 Column instead.

FILTER

The first order of business was to hot-rod the filter and remove any dependency on consumable materials. This filter lives in a box that creates the illusion of floating in the water. It is combined with a fairly weak light, all in one unit.