Low KH? Crushed coral or Alkaline Buffer - how to use it?

Ariel S

hello! 

im having KH/PH issues—- I’m not a newbie, but new house with new tap water is blowing my mind!!! 

I have very low KH from my tap but very hard water (hardest readable on test strips)and PH at about 7.0 depending on the day.

I’ve been getting PH swings throughout the day that I’ve been tracking for 3 weeks. My ph is swinging from 6.5 to 7.6 throughout the day most days (starting 3 days after water change) 

Yikes! I’m thinking I must need more KH- but how can I get it? water changes are only lasting me about 1-2 days, then I’m readying nearly 0 KH in my tank. So I guess a water change won’t be my best bet. Crushed Coral? Seachem’s Equilibrium?  

I have 1 lb of crushed coral currently mixed into my gravel, but should I use more? No room in my filter to add it, unless I toss one of my 2 sponges out (AC50)  

this is happening in my 29 gallon. 

any help would be greatly appreciated! 

Edited by Ariel S

Crushed coral would be a good solution, especially if it is in the filter. I have found that more impactful then just using it as gravel.

I also believe Equilibrium/Replenish would be mainly for GH, and have less of an impact on KH. You can also use some baking soda to raise KH/PH, but do it very carefully, and test the measures in a 5 gallon bucket first. I have similar soft/low KH water to you right out of the tap, and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda per 5 gallons will bring my PH from 6.8 to 7.6, and raise KH from 40 to about 80.

Your mileage may vary, which is why it is super important to test the results outside of the tank first.