Help!? Dueling Filters Dilemma

natnhat

I've watched a lot of your filter videos & wanted a sponge filter for my tank. I think it's 40 or 50 gallon bow front tank. I like super clean water so I got the biggest sponge filter I could find off of Amazon. But I'm not sure it's working... I'm worried I don't have enough suction for the filter. It was much bigger than I thought it would be! Takes up maybe 1/5th of the tank.   I've got lots of bubbles coming out of the top but it's been 3 or 4 weeks and there's still nothing on the sides of the filter. I also use a HOB filter I think it's for a 55/75 gal tank. So maybe I've just got too much filtration? I don't know!   I hope & pray this letter finds you well. I'm attaching a couple pictures to help. I'm SO grateful for any and ALL help I can get!  Thanks SO much for your help!

20210322_132432.jpg

20210322_132453.jpg

Edited by natnhat
Adding pictures

I am not an expert but you have more than enough filtration. Also you don’t have a very heavily stocked tank. Your only big waste producer appears to be the pleco hiding behind the sponge filter. If you feed appropriately you may not have a lot of gunk to pick up. Some say you can’t over filter, but I don’t know that you need both. Either one should be adequate I think but your HOB takes up a lot less space. 

*also you probably get more traffic posting in the General Discussion section rather than photos videos and journal section because I don’t know that this is that. Good luck. 

I've watched a lot of filter videos & I wanted to start running a sponge filter but I think I maybe over did it!! I tried posting this in the pictures section but I didn't get much help. Someone said to try it here...