Question: HOB filter and feeding brine shrimp

CitizenSneaky

Hello everybody,

I have a heavily planted 4gal nano tank, young pea puffer, and a small HOB filter (modded with coarse sponges per Cory's YouTube video and set to the lowest flow setting). I'm new to live foods and I was just wondering, do you just let the filter run when you feed brine shrimp? Or is it a bad idea to put the filter on a timer and run it like 10min ON / 50min OFF every hour to keep the brine shrimp in the tank longer and out of the filter? Or maybe I'm over thinking it. 😉 

Thanks in advance!

IMG_1854.jpg

I usually just leave my HOB running all the time, even when feeding brine shrimp.

You could totally hook it up to a timer but it might be really loud when it turns back on, because it will be running dry. You could try it! 🤷‍♂️

I have pre-filter on all my hob filters so not a problem that way.Otherwise many could be sucked into your filter.Not good. Not much different than leaving a dead fish in your tank.You might be able to get away with it but a pre-filter is inexpensive fro Aquarium coop and is added biological filtration,in addition you will have to clean your hob that much less often.A win win for sure

24 minutes ago, Dirtydave said:

I have pre-filter on all my hob filters so not a problem that way.Otherwise many could be sucked into your filter.Not good. Not much different than leaving a dead fish in your tank.You might be able to get away with it but a pre-filter is inexpensive fro Aquarium coop and is added biological filtration,in addition you will have to clean your hob that much less often.A win win for sure

I'd say its closer to, and exactly is, leaving uneaten food in the tank.  The difference between uneaten food and a dead fish as far as ammonia is concerned is mostly just the quantity. 

I think people also generally add only enough BBS for fish to eat in a couple min.  Are pea puffers different? slower?