A potentially dumb question about drilling and plumbing tanks

Fishdude

So I'm still a novice but I noticed in watching videos of so many fish rooms and stores that many experienced aquarists drill all of their tanks. I understand the basic concept of a sump for single large tanks but I'm wondering about these systems with so many smaller tanks rigged together. Why do they do this and what's the benefit? Where does the water flow to, and how much of it needs to drain? Does this prevent the need for a regular water change in those tanks?

Maybe dumb questions but I'm super curious about this.

Usually they drain into a larger pipe that leads to the home’s septic system or they rig a drain that leads outside. When you add water to the tank, it overflows through the drilled bulkheads. So running clean water into the tank for a period of time effectively gives you a water change of a certain percentage. Hope that made some sense. I’m not the best at explaining things clearly and concisely.

Hopefully someone else can explain it better.

Edited by OceanTruth
Added a line

20 minutes ago, joeylee642 said:

so are you asking about drilling for auto water change or for a sump?

I think I'm asking for both! I've seen plenty of content about the sunps, especially for the 800 gallon tank. I was wondering how an auto water change system works.

so basically an auto water change system works by drilling the tank installing a bulk head at a preferred height of the water line in the tank or tanks. without going into too much detail on building the system basically your building a drain system which flows into a drain to sewer, pond, or where ever you want the water to go. next is building basically a water system around the room so you can drip or run a certain amount of water into the tank flushing out bad water or used water into the drain lines and leaving fresh water in the tanks so that makes up an auto water change.