I want to play with co2. Suggestions.

I set up a new fluval flex 15g today as an aquascape. It’s pretty heavily planted. The plants are all easy low to medium light but I would still like to try co2. Mostly for fun. 

I read some bad things about the fluval co2 kits. Any suggestions on a starter setup for someone who wants to tinker?

19E95A6C-10E4-4508-8A25-2516B1AABE67.jpeg

Edited by Clovis

If you plan on tinkering with co2 you should do your fish a favor and get a decent dual stage regulator. Co2art has some fairly cheap good quality products. The failure rate of those single stage setups like the fluval is pretty high. Just my opinion. 

• Like 3

I’m thinking of trying the same thing (keep in mind I have no experience) but I saw a video on YouTube by the “King Of DIY” called “HOW TO: DIY CO2 system for aquarium plants TUTORIAL” I’m going to try this cheap diy system.

Co2Art sells really good regulators w/solenoids, with options to add on. I’ve purchased three and love two of my setups completely. Unfortunately my last one wouldn’t turn off when the power shut down. I emailed them. They asked for photos of every little part and then sent me tiny replacement parts, where I had to basically dismantle the thing and rebuild it.  I have not yet tried it as I had to buy a different one for immediate use and it works fine. Plus I don’t trust my skills. The other is now my backup. Just be aware if you are new to C02. Maybe buy something less expensive on Amazon. 

2 hours ago, Andy's Fish Den said:

I have an Fzone regulator, and the build quality of it is great, and so far it has worked flawlessly. Now, I just started using CO2 and this is the first and only regulator I have bought so I have nothing to compare it to. 

I'm glad you said that. I purchased an fzone regulator as a spare. I haven't had to use it but it seems to be of good quality. Glad to hear yours works as it should.