Hi all,

I am an absolute novice at this hobby. I have had my tank running for 5 days now. I added Fritzyme 7 to the tank and added some fish food in hopes to get things moving. I received my test kit today (thanks aquarium co-op!) and tested my water and there is absolutely nothing going on here. 

Is fish food not going to be enough to get things moving? Should I be adding a couple fish and just test frequently and change water often? And then add more fish when it has been fully cycled? 

Thank you everyone for the advice. 

20210304_202931.jpg

• Like 1

The fish food method is going to take a fair amount of time. You're just stuck waiting on things to rot, which is something of an inexact science. I've seen folks talk about it taking 6-8 weeks using only fish food. I pride myself on being patient with this hobby, but I'm not that patient.

If you can, I'd recommend getting your hands on some ammonium chloride. I ended up ordering a 1lbs bag of the powdered stuff and I'll almost certainly drop dead before I finish the bag.

As far as a fish-in cycle... I guess? Assuming you're performing water changes to keep levels in check, feeding lightly and being observant it's certainly possible. I think @Danielhas posted before about a tank that was allowed to just sort itself out. My opinion would be that things like that are best left to experienced and knowledgeable fish-keepers, people who have seen enough tanks cycle to know how to handle any bumps in the road, but assuming you chose a hardy fish it's an option.

People new to testing frequently get false nitrate results, be sure to really shake the heck out of the bottle and the vial. You can try testing levels an hour or two after ghost feeding the tank to see if you have detectable ammonia levels, and then again 24 hours later to see if it's been processed by bacteria.

• Like 1