Celestial Pearl Danios - Help? Pretty small.

Ben_RF

Hey you wonderful folk.  I was hoping to reach out to you to seek some advice.  Today I received an order of celestial pearl danios from a reputable company that has me a bit concerned.  They are on the smaller size. The two doa that I measured were abit less than 1/4".  I am assuming it is ok to feed live baby brine at that size.  I just don't know. I do have access to green water if I need to be adding it to the tank.

Also should the dealer have included a heat pack?  There was none included and I am thinking that may have made all the difference in the two doa.  Our temperatures here have been in the high 30'f at night and in the day we have been in the mid 50'f to low 60's here on the coast of NC. 

Oh I guess I should also say this is my first time keeping them, so I am a bit nervous as it is.  I have been watching all the youtube videos that I could (including the ones by Jimmy and Corey, which were great).  Also reading up the various articles that I could find.  So yeah already a bit nervous going into them to begin with.  

1/4" would make them only slightly larger than the 6-7 week old CPD fry I'm raising right now.

They're tiny fish when adults, but 1/4" sounds... really tiny. Mine were quite small when I bought them. Probably 3/4" long and drab gray. I was concerned about feeding them, but the people at my LFS advised just grinding up flake/pellets with my fingers until they put on some size. I supplemented that with BBS and frozen daphnia and they've grown and colored up beautifully.

If you've got baby brine on hand, they'll be fine to eat that. Mine have been eating bbs since ~week 2 of life when they were little more than a pair of eyeballs and a tail. I still feed my adults baby brine 2-3x a week.