Question about guppy care

Maggie

Good morning! I've almost decided to get guppies for my 20L, and it will be either male-only or female-only. As with everything fishkeeping there is alot of conflicting info on guppy care. The Coop has a good article that says though they prefer higher water temperature, they tend to live longer (and have fewer babies) when kept at 72-75, which is the temperature I keep my 20L, and they need hard water. Other articles say never keep them cool, always warm, and it must be rock hard water! The water in there is pH 7.4, KH and GH both 7. I'd love to hear opinions from you guys on this. The guppies I want are the "assorted" type, nothing fancy. I'd rather pick another fish than change my water in this aquarium since the danios are doing really well, so dither fish suggestions are welcome if guppies won't work. I've been hemming and hawwing over this for over 2 months and even got my betta first because I couldn't decide! I can no longer keep staring at the 20L being so understocked.

I've only had about two or three years experience with guppies, but I kept them at 76 degrees, 7.6 Ph 3 Kh and Gh about 10 and they did well; very productive. I wouldn't worry too much, I think your params are fine. You can always add crushed coral if you want to increase hardness just to be sure. 

Edited by H.K.Luterman
I have no idea what year it is.
  • Like 2

Sounds like you have an ideal setup. I usually keep my guppies outside but when I have to pull them in for winter I keep them around 65-70 degrees, gh is about 10 dGH at around 6.4 ph. You'll have more leeway with water parameters if you buy assorted guppies/endlers which is what I did. 

I have noticed better coloration by increasing hardness but I don't it think its fully necessary. Regular water changes will replenish any used minerals and this is also a great option:

9 minutes ago, H.K.Luterman said:

You can always add crushed coral if you want to increase hardness just to be sure.