Amazon sword struggling.

I’m getting re-started in the hobby after many years and decided to try live plants, which I’ve never tried before. My newly planted Amazon Sword is developing brown spots, but is putting out a nice runner with a baby plant that looks very healthy. Are these signs that the mother plant is dying? Is the plant too close to the air stone?B62E9E2E-F377-4311-AE37-EC0A91AAFD6A.jpeg.18ab32c9d776b18b05f2f05503128981.jpeg

Edited by Jim Kelly

Yes, the plant is having some nutrient deficiencies. Are you using any fertilizers? Root tabs should work, the old leaves wont repair, but watch the new leaves for further signs of deficiency. If the new leaves are looking good you are back on track. Just remember as the plant grows it will need more fertilizer the bigger it gets. 

Thank you for the responses. Yes, I am using root tabs. I will keep an eye on the new leaves. There is a new one sprouting at the base. Meanwhile, the propagation is growing nicely. I was wondering if the plant is diverting food and energy to it, causing the mature leaves to wither?

3 hours ago, Jim Kelly said:

I was wondering if the plant is diverting food and energy to it, causing the mature leaves to wither?

Not naturally no. Plants can grow new tissue, but can not regenerate dead tissue. If part of the leaf is alive it will continue to send nutrients to a damaged leaf. Here is a pic of my wife’s orchid we keep in our bathroom. That damaged leaf has been there since she first got it over a year ago. The green part is still photosynthesizing for the orchid, however if we were to remove it the plant would grow a new undamaged leaf that would provide more sugars than the current damaged leaf. In your situation i would wait to see good healthy new growth take over, and then cut the damaged leaves later to stop sending nutrients to the bad leaves and send more to your new healthy leaves. 

7D613A43-500F-4A34-B8F1-C5BB25010F6C.jpeg

4 hours ago, Jim Kelly said: