Aviation and Radio Control

FlyingFishKeeper

Hi everyone, I noticed that a lot of people here are from either the aviation community or the rc hobby, so why not have a thread in the forum about it? If you would like to you can post anything related to aviation &/or radio controlled planes, quadcopters, cars, crawlers, boats, etc here. Things like updates on projects, stories, etc are also welcome!

Edited by FlyingFishKeeper

Thanks for the replies! I'm still a fairly novice radio control pilot but love building and I've done more builds then I'd like to admit due to crashing so many times. I really love the use of foam board since it is fast to build, easy, and fun. Not to mention budget friendly. I'm designing and building my own plane and have done the fuselage, part of the nose, and the tail without the vertical and horizontal stabilizers yet. 

@FlyingFishKeeper, I was heavily involved in the fascinating radio control hobby for over 20 years.  Built & flown high, mid, low,  elevon mixed, & multi-engine wing nitro\gas aircraft.  Progressed over the years to precision & advanced 3D flying & trained a number of people.  Met a bunch of very nice folks along the way flying at various club fields & air shows.  

BTW, If your still new to the hobby, am not sure if you have a computer simulator program for practice?  They help a lot, especially in trying & perfecting advanced maneuvers. 

@AdamTill, Aerial photography used to be much more difficult years ago.  So much easier today for sure.

@Angelfishlover, Maybe a higher torque servo with metal gears may help.  Also chassis vibration can lead to servo failure over time.  

@FlyingFishKeeper, Foam based RC planes are a lot of fun. Sounds like you are enjoying the sport.