Ramshorn over population

Donna

Beginner here :classic_smile: I have one of those dumb questions that some might make fun of me. This year is the first time I have had an aquarium and I didn't want to put fish in it because I don't know if I could keep a fish alive. I am a senior citizen, retired and wanted to have a hobby.

Without doing any research, I bought 10 beautiful Ramshorn snails. I put them in a 10 gallon tank then added root floating plants. So now my aquarium is full of snails! I don't know what to do with all these snails! I have started scratching off the new eggs that I find on the aquarium glass. It's possible there could be 500 in this 10 gallon tank!  No fish in tank. Only snails, and a bunch of salvinia floating plants that are multiplying also {I think the snails are laying eggs on under side}. I really like the snails BUT without killing these litter critters, what are some ways to scale down? Should I get a larger size tank?

Thanks folks and please be kind!

DonnaJL in North Carolina

• Like 2

Hi @Donna! So glad you've joined the forum! And this is a great question!

A couple of things you can try:

1. Stop feeding the snails. They reproduce according to the food supply. When it drops off, they will slow down.
  2. Get another aquatic creature that eats snails. You can try pygmy chain loaches or maybe assassin snails. The assassin snails reproduce muuuuuch more slowly than the rams horns.
  3. Take some to your local fish store. Especially is they have nice shells, with no pitting and a lovely color. It could be that your LFS would be willing to take some off your hands. 

Personally, I would do ALL THREE things at the same time.

Just a heads up - as snails die off, they reeeeeally stink. You'll want to remove any that die during this process.

I sure hope that helps you a little,

Alesha

• Like 6

That's awesome! It's a great hobby to start and everyone here will have nothing but kind words to share I'm sure.