Lighting for new planted tank

Rhonda

I have a new tank on it's way (55 gallon Acrylic) and I am pretty sure I need new lighting.  My current light in my 45 gallon tank is 24W, but I don't have live plants.  In my new tank, I am planning on a fully planted aquascape.  I am new to plant care so am choosing very easy plant options to start with.  I am not sure how much difference the wattage makes - I have read in multiple places and get differing information: 110W, 1W per gal, and 3W per gal.  The tank is 36"L X 24" H, it seems that would make a difference as well.  I'm also thinking I need one I can put on a timer.  Do I need one that slowly increases in brightness and then decreases?  There are too many options and I don't know what I "need" vs. "nice to have" for a healthy tank.  The more I research, the more "information" there is to sort through!

Thanks for any advice!

why a fluval3.0? its expensive, complicated and often I feel, overkill. No, you do not need it. It´s kinda "the new cool thing”. Seems to me a lot of people ”need” it more for themselves than for the plants.

Led lights are good and energy efficient. plants will grow with light. why complicate things- Buy a light, not necessarily ”The Light”.

Easy plants - easy light - easy tank - easy life! - enjoy tinkering with your new tank.

4 hours ago, Blurb said:

why a fluval3.0? its expensive, complicated and often I feel, overkill. No, you do not need it. It´s kinda "the new cool thing”. Seems to me a lot of people ”need” it more for themselves than for the plants.

Led lights are good and energy efficient. plants will grow with light. why complicate things- Buy a light, not necessarily ”The Light”.

Easy plants - easy light - easy tank - easy life! - enjoy tinkering with your new tank.

I actually got the 3.0 from a friend that bought it and decided not to use it. I bought it from him for a little less than half the price. I actually like the serene light better. 

1 hour ago, Chrisdis said: