Dual sponge filters or single barrel?

Hamilton

Hi, I'm setting up a cherry shrimp tank for the first time and it seems like a lot of shrimp breeders recommend dual sponge filters. I can see the advantages of the dual sponge filters being that they are easier to clean (popping out one sponge is far easier than a barrel one), you can remove one to cycle another tank, and they don't take up any space on the tank floor. 

Are there disadvantages over a single barrel one apart from a little less suction power? 

I've watched many of Cory's youtube videos and I haven't seen one where he talks about dual sponge filters. Does anyone know why he doesn't carry them?

I do not know this from experience, however, from other forums and youtube videos I have seen it recommended for the dual to provide more surface space for shrimp to graze upon.  For me as an average hobbyist, I don't think its going to matter much whether someone like me went single or dual.  A benefit of a sponge like aquarium co op's is that I find I have to clean them less often verses the fine ones you get on the dual filters.  With that being said I have only ever used an aquarium co op sponge filter in my shrimp tank.

Edited by Ben_RF
  • Like 1

Oh and this took me forever to learn with shrimp tanks is to set it up, let it get established, then keep your hands off it as you let it go.  Early on with them, I killed far to many by being to interactive with the tank.  To big of water changes.  Feeding to much (this was big for me). Trying to aquascape to much.  I hope this helps.  

Thanks for the advice, BenRF.  That's exactly what I'm trying to do... Find the balance between being hands off and interactive. I'm trying to do everything now before the fry get born and then I'm planning to be hands-off for a month or two until the fry get bigger. Did you gravel vac your shrimp tank in the first month or two? 

• Like 1