Discus water questions

Rachel Y

So I am a newbie (under two years) in this hobby but have had enough success that I jumped into Discus this week and I have some questions and would love advice from experienced aquarists.

I purchased (2) what was listed as cobalt blue discus but after research they seem to actually be blue diamond discus, at PETCO! Lol..I’d say about 3.5 inch right now. I have them in my 55 quarantine tank. I tested my water to see if I had good water for them. I’ve had good success getting my angels to spawn and have a good crop of quarter sized fry right now. I was surprised at the water we have here in Bremerton. Temp 84, gh-7 deg, Kh-6 deg, PH-8.2!.....I keep the tank at 0-0->20 nitrates. Am using fully cycled filtration and am medicating them with the trio now.

The Questions:

1. Should I buy an RO Unit to soften this water for them? Or should I be patient and let them adjust to my harder water?

2. Will they EVER be able to spawn at this ph? (If they are a male and female)

3. I’ve heard the eggs can’t hatch at higher ph, is this true?
4. Would tannins in the water have any significant effect on Ph? Could I use this instead of RO?

5. Anything I am not thinking of? Please tell me what I don’t know.... 😉 

CE763991-9A7B-49B1-8B56-DE7CE6103871.jpeg

E1468EE8-54CF-41BE-90B1-A3D221BE171D.jpeg

45D5524A-075B-4B6D-9F52-8A71D14D12A8.jpeg

As someone who keeps discus and has an RO system (for the discus), I would advise to wait on the RO. No matter what the conventional wisdom is on water parameters, I think a lot of it depends on the fish keeper. You must be a pretty decent fish keeper as you are spawning angelfish.

I wouldn't try and change anything about the water at first. If you have good quality water that is consistent, I would do frequent water changes. Make sure the discus like the water changes. If each water change is a mini-setback, maybe not much on the water changes. Tannins aren't a concern at this time.