Auto feeders

Will Billy

I have never used an auto feeder before, and was just looking at some online and on amazon. I was wondering if anyone has ever used these devices before? Did they work well? Are there features i should look for in a good model vs a more mediocre model? Or are they even worth the time or money? Any thoughts and opinions are more than welcome. 

*oops, i thought i was in the general thread, didnt mean to post it to the plants thread. *

Edited by Will Billy

I've only used the Fish Mate F14 auto feeder. I loved it, because I could control exactly how much food was being dispensed. Each little compartment is one feeding. Also, it slowly released the food as opposed to dumping it in all at once. You can load it with flakes or pellets.

The negatives are that you are limited to the 14 compartments. So once a day you can feed for 14 days. Twice a day only 7 days and so forth. Also, if you have monster fish or monster tanks with tons of fish this feeder wouldn't be for you, because the compartments only hold a small amount.

If you want an auto feeder for a small or nano tank I would recommend it.

Hmm, interesting. I was looking at that one because i have flakes and crumbles for my nano fish, and i use bottom feeder pellets and algae wafers for my cleaning crew. I thought that one would be best for mixing different types of food vs the rotating cylinder looking ones. My only concern now is that i have nearly max stocked 55 gallon of nano fish plus 2 dojo loaches. Now im not sure each chamber would hold enough food for everybody. ( especially the dojos, they are glutenous pigs lol)

12 minutes ago, Will Billy said: