Help!!! My tank is ugly!!!

Lori

I seriously have no idea what plants I have and what would work. Yes, there is a filter cartridge in there. Wanted it to grow some bacteria before the one in the filter dies!  Not even sure if this works with this kind of filter!!!!  Ugh, I hate that I’m so new, but I’m really willing to learn

any suggestions are appreciated, just be nice to me 🤣

• Like 1

Looks good,   im not a pro by anymeans either but i believe you have a few amazon swords in there which might get pretty big, maybe find a few crypts they tend to stay a little shorter..  but i really like the different  levels,   and my experience with most other plants is they will only grow as big as they are allowed so probably manageable 

Hi there!

I think that you should make the tank how you want it....so whatever that is I would research what would work well in your tank.

Quick not on the filter situation, if you go to Youtube and search for "optimize your HOB filter", Cory has a couple different videos that will help you out a ton.

• Thanks 1

I think you have healthy looking new plants, I see amazon and ozelot swords, hygrophila corymbosa maybe, and lymnophilla sessifolia maybe. They appear to be placed appropriately for their size. The crypt will love root tabs in its top level, as it won't get enough out of the gravel. Also, it doesn't need bright light, so if you get algae, maybe move that level down a little.

Your rocks are many different colors, and all very high contrast. In a small tank that can look a little busy at first. If you really love them all, that will calm down as they age, grow algae, and plants grow in around them.