New to guppies - really struggling

TetraMan

I’m new to guppies as I just wanted a fun fish in my 7.5 gal planted tank with shrimp. I got a male and female pair from the Co op and after a couple days they started hiding in a cave.. I had people tell me to get a second female in the mix because they might be stressed.. so I did, but when I got back from the store I found both guppies dead with their tail fins ripped apart.. the next day I got another female and a male because the new (and alone) guppy seemed skittish and I figured company would help. And it did. Until a few days later she was randomly dead. 

I did multiple water tests and changes through this process and my parameters were always good. I cycled for 2 weeks with old media and My tank temp is 78 degrees. I currently have a male and female and don’t want them to kill eachother like the last pair. So I’m at the crossroads of deciding whether to rehome the guppies or just getting another female and hoping it works.

are these types of hiccups typical in guppies? If so I might keep trying, or am I seriously screwing up here? Should I separate the male and female? Thanks guys.

I attached an image of my tank( with the first pair) and of my newest trio of gups, the yellow female is the one that passed randomly.

32E8FFD2-71C7-42F8-B138-4E5292F9FF8B.jpeg

FC94A50B-A3A7-470D-8522-E54D25FC253B.jpeg

I don't know what could be wrong.

But what I wanted to say is, that just because the fish is labeld a "beginner fish" doesn't mean everyone is going to have the best of luck with the fish. I know I don't have good luck with guppies. So don't feel down about this situation instead rise over the occasion and learn from all the other wonderful forum members that will help.

28 minutes ago, Grubhead said: