Panda Corydora’s tail fin crumbled off!?

Theresa_M

Hi everyone,

First, I am new to the hobby (exactly two weeks) and to this forum (discovered yesterday) and have learned that I am making tons of mistakes at the expense of my amazing new fish pets.

Right away, I started a Betta sorority with 10 gorgeous girls who are getting along beautifully, 10 neon tetras that are now down to 6 - mysteriously disappearing from the tank (not in filter) -, 6 panda Corydoras, a Nerite snail, two African dwarf frogs and one hillstream loach (plan to add two more as soon as I have a stable environment). These were all intended to live together in a 75 gallon community tank (along with many more fish in the future).

As you can imagine, I didn’t cycle before adding the fish. This was about two weeks ago (Dec 20).

*Main display tank started cycling a couple days ago though - yay!!! And, I’m testing water several times a day with strips and master kit and changing 30-50% of water depending on ammonia level. Nitrates are ~20; nitrites have remained very low, and ammonia has been coming in at 1 or less when checked. I am struggling with PH though, even used Ph tabs and added distilled water and still cannot seem to bring it down under 8. And I do have soft water, so what gives!? I’m thinking my fish will have to learn to live with a high Ph? Which I’ve heard is doable??*

Anyway, after learning about cycling and quarantining a week into the hobby, I immediately ran out and bought a 10 gal hospital tank (Dec 27) and began cycling it with no fish, to be ready to take on new fish in the future. 

The next day (Dec 28) is when I bought the six pandas and loach, and added them to my main display tank since all of the fish were purchased within 7 days of each other, and decided I would treat the lot safely at once while waiting for the tank to cycle. I thought I knew so much more than I actually did 🙁