DarthRevan

Hey everyone, I found out about this hobby from a random YouTube video and since then I’ve gotten really interested.

I’ve been doing research for like 2 months now and as soon as my lease is up (don’t want to get a tank going then have to move immediately lol) I’m planning on starting a planted tank. Based on what I’ve seen I would really like a 20 gallon long tank to scape.

I’d love a betta and some smaller tank mates with it like rummy nose tetras and harlequin rasboras and cherry shrimp (for cleanup). I’m just not sure how many I can do of each. Now I know the betta might eat some of the shrimp but after looking into it, it seems like the shrimp should be ok if they’re the first in the tank, are allowed to grow, the betta was in a community tank already at the pet store, the other fish are fed enough and the shrimp have hiding places. So that aside, would 6-7 shrimp, 7-10 tetras, 7-10 rasboras, and a betta be ok in a tank like that? I want a lot of fish and variety but I don’t want to overstock it and make them miserable. Also I know this is a lot for a new person, it’s not going to all be at once but it is my end goal for my first tank. Any thoughts/constructive criticism are welcome and appreciated 🙂

Welcome to the hobby! My fist question is, what is your ph & hardness? Also, what kind of filter are you planning on using? If you do an overkill filter like a Fluval 207 - 307 you would be able to do the stocking you want. If you go with a filter rated for 20g, you'd be barely overstocking. The shrimp are a great cleanup crew and be very beneficial. All the fish you want are compatible and would make a great community. I'd recommend sacrificing a few of your schooling fish and do a couple cleanup crew fish instead. Small plecos and loaches are great! You don't have to, just an idea. I hope you learn a lot here and it took me 10 years of fish keeping before finding this forum so you are getting a great head start. Happy fishkeeping!