Green neon tetras... too difficult for a beginner?

Karen B.

Greetings!

I am looking for a very peaceful community fish to go in my 20 gallons. I currently have 8 false julii corydoras and 2 nerita. I will also get 1 honey gourami.

For the community fish, I really like the green neon tetra but I am reading mixed reviews about them. I know they prefer lower ph but Girl Talk Fish channel (Irene) kept hers in a ph of 8 just fine (mine is 7.4)

Are they difficult to keep? Should I aim for something else as I am a beginner?

If yes, any suggestions? I have to say most of the common choice leave me pretty indifferent. 

Thank you!

Karen

If you want Green Neon Tetras, and you're comfortable with your tank/water situation, get the fish you want. As long as you can keep them fed, healthy, and meet their needs, get them. Experience only comes about by keeping fish. You'll never be an experienced Green Neon Tetra owner until you own them. Unless you're buying them from a private breeder, I can pretty much guarantee you, wherever you get the Green Neon Tetras from, they'll have had a worse life than you'll give them. If they were wild caught they'll have been moved multiple times in far less than ideal conditions each time. All that matters to most people dealing with tropical fish (those catching them, shippers, wholesalers, distributors, and retail pet shops) is that the fish is alive long enough to move to sell. It's a business for them. They tend not to go out of their way to meet the needs of a specific fish. If they can keep it alive long enough to sell it, that's all that matters to them.

There are multiple videos out there showing you the topical fish business from catching them in the wild to the path to your local store. If you watch a lot of those videos you'll come away wondering how any fish ever survives. There is likely nothing you can do to a Green Neon Tetra that's worse than they've had to deal with along the way to get to you. 

• Like 3