Rogue red rili shrimp an issue for red cherry shrimp colony?

Charose

I got a group of red cherry shrimp today from my local fish store with the intention of starting up a colony to maintain and supply my other tanks. Their stock was pretty low and long story short I think I ended up with 4 females and 2 males (shop clerk thought he gave me 4 males and 2 females though I requested at least 6 females and 2 males...) and one of the suspected males is a red rili variant. I was wondering if I should remove this rili male to prevent him from breeding. I know rili is a mutation, but don't know the genetics of it or best practices for establishing a good breeding colony. Will his progeny be a mixture of pure red and rili individuals or all red? I don't want to end back up with muddy shrimps right off the bat so any advice would be appreciated!

IMG_9610.jpeg

IMG_9607.jpeg

2 minutes ago, lefty o said:

im no expert, but judging from the photo, he is just a poorly colored cherry. whether he is a rilli or just poorly colored, he can pass along the genetics.

yea the other thought i had was he was immature and not fully colored, but I haven't raised these before. was basing the rili phenotype based on this 

small-wide-Red-Cherry-Shrimp-Grading-2-1
AQUARIUMBREEDER.COM

Today I would like to talk about Red Cherry shrimp grading.  As a matter of fact but most aquarists do not even know what kind…

Ideally, if you want to keep them a specific color you'll cull for any undesirable traits that aren't up to the standards you'd like to see in your colony, rili pattern included. The shrimp above does have a rili pattern, though not a strong one, and has the potential to pass it on. Your solid red cherries can potentially have rili offspring down the road as well. Keeping a colony "true" requires a lot of diligent culling. 

• Like 3