Red tiger lotus produce Toxins?

Blurb

I  just wonder if anyone here  have heard that the red tiger lotus produces a toxin to get rid off other plant around it so it can grow better. I think I read it somewhere online but not sure I got the right plant. Its not that important really but I'm just curious and it bugs me that I can't remember!

I’m no expert. Maybe do a search on Allelopathy / Diana Walstad.

From Diana Walstads Book.

”Aquatic plants contain a variety of allelochemicals whose primary function is to protect the plant from being eaten by fish and  insects or being destroyed by disease”

I’m not sure if this would be the case with your Red Tiger Lotus.

Edited by Koi Fish
  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

I found the article (www.theaquariumguide.com)

"The Zekeri needs a lot of space and takes in most of the nutrients in the water, so you have to keep in mind not to plant it near sensitive plants, as the red tiger lotus produces a dangerous chemical that inhibits the growth of other plants."

Perhaps that why my cryptos around it is smaller than the others.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

On 12/12/2020 at 12:50 AM, Blurb said:

I found the article (www.theaquariumguide.com)

"The Zekeri needs a lot of space and takes in most of the nutrients in the water, so you have to keep in mind not to plant it near sensitive plants, as the red tiger lotus produces a dangerous chemical that inhibits the growth of other plants."

Perhaps that why my cryptos around it is smaller than the others.

I had no idea! I saw the title of this post and thought, "pfffft! Of course not!" Whelp, shame on me! Glad to have found this info before my recently purchased tiger lotus roots in my tank!

• Like 1