Building a stand questions; buying lumber

Kat_Rigel

I would like to build a small aquarium stand like the one in this video from The King of DIY.

I have a few questions, as I'm pretty new to any carpentry. First, you have to pick out straight boards from the hardware store. Will this be easier if I go to a lumber store/yard instead of a big box hardware store? I expect there would be an associated increased cost, but if it saves me a significant amount of time, I'd be ok with that. (Within reason.)

My other concern is making straight cuts. I think there aren't many ways to cut corners on this (lol.) I'm trying to find a friend that can do the job for me, or maybe someone on taskrabbit or Craigslist. I just KNOW it is super easy for SOMEONE out there! I am extremely limited on space (3rd floor apartment, the only area I can work in is a small balcony. It's enough space to put the rack together, but I can't buy a table saw or the like.)

Any other tips for building this, or recommendations for building stuff in tiny spaces? I'm planning to have it hold two 10gal tanks, so it will be smaller than the one in the video. I've done my share of DIY and crafty stuff, but this one... this one needs to be RIGHT or there will be a disaster! Lol

• Like 1

I know people joke about the twisted lumber at the big box stores but it's not to terribly difficult to find wood that is straight or at least straight enough for most projects.

The thought that comes to my mind if you build it yourself is you could use (2) 5 gallon buckets as a saw horse to hold the wood off the ground/floor and use a circular saw on the balcony to make the cuts. Or after you buy the wood make the cut marks and then make the cuts at a friends or familys place and then build it at your apartment.

I've heard stories about people getting whole projects cut for them at the big box store if you bring in all the measurements but I think that can be hit or miss depending on the particular store.