Questions on used 220 gallon

Cheryl P.

Last night I brought home a 220 gallon tank and stand that someone was selling for stupid cheap.  Right now it's sitting in my garage full of water to make sure there's no leaks.  We're going to be doing a facelift on the stand to pretty it up.  This is my first time buying a 2nd hand tank so my first question is, how long should I leave it filled up before I can be reasonably sure that the seals are good?

My biggest tank now is 90 gallons that I have running with HOBs.  I've never dealt with canisters or sumps.  The 220 did come with a sump tank but it looks dicey (cracked rims) and I'm not really sure I want to go down the sump path.  So I have a couple of questions here. 

What filtration should I be looking at?  I'm not entirely sure what we're going to put in the tank.  Right now I have a common pleco that will definitely be going in.  I'm leaning towards an oscar and some blood parrots but that might change.  We are certain we want to put big fish into it though.  I would love to get away with something cheap like sponge filters but I don't know if that's going to cut it.  I'm thinking an FX6 would be able to handle whatever I want to put in there but this is new territory for me.

The tank has 2 bulkheads in the upper right corner.  They have cut off pieces of PVC glued into them.  I imagine getting those pieces of PVC out of bulkheads is going to be hard so we're considering removing them completely and replacing them.  I don't think I'm going to use them so we'll probably just install new bulkheads and cap them.  Is that the best way to go about it?

20201130_081709.jpg

• Like 1