I have been trying to film an Oryzias Latipes egg hatching for about a week or so now. I removed the eggs from some moss in my tank with a pipette and placed them in a deli cup with tap water and whatever water was in the pipette. The first few days I only saw a few things darting around in the drop of water on the slide with the egg.

After a week I noticed all sorts of things alive and moving, some even attached themselves to the egg. I'm no expert on what any of these things are, but I imagine that the small things are paramecium. I can recognize that there are vorticella and a nematode, but I have no idea what the grabby big mouth worm thing is. Any insights? 

I have been unsuccessful so far in filming the moment of hatching. I found myself watching all the little things that I never knew were there more intently and with more curiosity than watching the egg itself. Just thought I would share.

Edited by Aubrey
Wash your hands
  • Like 8
  • Thanks 1

• 1 month later...

I have been keeping several deli containers with tank water and azolla in an effort to grow out the azolla. I'm having very little luck with that plant. Anyway one of them has taken off with a slimy green algae, ostracods, copepods, and nematodes.

Below is a top down photograph and a video from the side to show some of the wiggly things.

20210108_124127.jpg.562024dd9eadbd55d756dd12a2002762.jpg

In the next images you will see the drop of water from the deli cup that we will be looking into along with a pin for scale.

20210108_123743-1.jpg.ce132a36379710f1b5619a36eb9ef2a4.jpg20210108_125354-1.jpg.c9f678ac672ea23e9260c1a29fec31d1.jpg20210108_125301.jpg.a94f8c7ad880e64ce9c4c1fddc700460.jpg

And now about a minutes with of time in that drop of water. I only see ostracods or seed shrimp and tiny bits of algae.

I'm hoping to get an actual microscope soon, but I still find this one to produce usable/shareable footage. It's pretty neat to see what could be living in a drop of water.

• Like 4