Ich on Betta

K. M.

I'm new to the aquarium hobby and haven't had to treat ich ever before. I have a 10G planted tank for my betta. He had tank mates (neon tetra and a clown pleco) which unfortunately succumbed to ich :( .

Water parameters were good following a half water change. I began treatment with aquarium salt (1tsp per gallon) about 38 hours ago. He has several white spots on his fins, but they have not spread. Cory's video on Ich said that it would spread a lot, but it hasn't been the case for my betta. I'm not sure if the lack of spread is due to it not being ich or because I've been using aquarium salt. 

I tried to get a picture, but unfortunately the little dude was camera-shy today. I'm unsure if I should stay the course and just let the aquarium salt do its thing, or pair Ich meds with it. I'd love to hear input from anyone who has dealt with this!

1 hour ago, K. M. said:

I'm new to the aquarium hobby and haven't had to treat ich ever before. I have a 10G planted tank for my betta. He had tank mates (neon tetra and a clown pleco) which unfortunately succumbed to ich 😞 .

Water parameters were good following a half water change. I began treatment with aquarium salt (1tsp per gallon) about 38 hours ago. He has several white spots on his fins, but they have not spread. Cory's video on Ich said that it would spread a lot, but it hasn't been the case for my betta. I'm not sure if the lack of spread is due to it not being ich or because I've been using aquarium salt. 

I tried to get a picture, but unfortunately the little dude was camera-shy today. I'm unsure if I should stay the course and just let the aquarium salt do its thing, or pair Ich meds with it. I'd love to hear input from anyone who has dealt with this!