How can I use an UGF with eco-complete?

KittenFishMom

I am setting up my half cylinder tank. I want to use a UGF in there, and some eco-complete where I will be planting plants to give them a good start. 

I don't want the Eco-complete to clog up the UGF. Should I cover the areas of the UGF with stiff plastic (say a cut down deli container) where I plan to put the eco-complete, or will that negate the value of the UGF for the plant roots? Would a few layers of cotton cheesecloth be better? I welcome any ideas on this

I'm new to UGF. I expect I will need to cut back the front corners of the UGF to get it to sit flat in the tank. I think I may need to put a "rim" on the areas I cut so I don't clog the UGF with stuff coming in these open edges. Again, I welcome any advice.

Do folks have a method for cleaning under the UGF? I use one in my snail bucket. It is too small and the snails climb down the uplift and hang out under the filter. It is always really gross when I give away the snails and clean out under the UGF, but it has a big bioload, so I'm not too surprised. I plan to keep the bioload in my half cylinder low. 

Thank you for read, and even more for replying.

KittenFishMom

Eco Complete is fine with a UGF.  Material is almost always going to pass through the holes in the UGF.  I don't clean mine at all.  The material breaks down and feeds my plants. I'm sure some people do clean them out but short of removing all of the substrate you will never get it all.  I guess you could shove a hose down the uplift tube and suck as much detritus out as possible. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

I would always vac the substrate.

The way I've seen UGF used is in two forms, the traditional method and a plenum method.

The traditional method is that the UGF is placed in the tank, then your layer of eco complete on top.

Plenum would be something like this...

On 7/31/2023 at 3:26 PM, KittenFishMom said:

Again, I welcome any advice.