Fin Rot?

Ronnie

Hi there, 

I’m very very new to the aquarium world, and already terribly overwhelmed. My son has one small goldfish (Rocket) who is so very fond of. Unfortunately Rocket developed a case of fin rot almost immediately after we got him. We bought him for 25 cents at our local grocery store, and he came from very crowded conditions and was among other ill fish (I didn’t know that at the time, but since researching more I realize now.) 

We treated him with aquarium salt at a level one dosage (all we have available). He looked so much better after 5 days! So I did a 30% water change without redosing the salt.  A few hours later we had a sudden bacterial bloom, and I noticed a small black spot on Rocket’s fin. I have read mixed things online (black spots are disease; black spots are healing; everything in between) Something just felt off—so I redosed the salt. The bacterial bloom is gone, but now Rocket’s fins are covered in small black spots and streaks. I also noticed a small black spot on his belly. 

I have been fussing over this poor fish so much. I check his tank parameters at least 2 times a day, and they have been perfect every time. I do water changes every IMG_9646.jpeg.4df087a38852a29b00fedd351fe41272.jpegother day just to try to keep things under control. He is eating and moving well still. 

To complicate things further, Rocket sits opposite a window, and I was noticing that his tank seemed to be a little warm with all the extra sunshine. So I started to close the blinds when the sun was shining through the window. I did this for a few days in a row, and everyday since I have stopped has been gloomy. With the crazy amount of research I have done, I have read goldfish can turn black when they are kept in the dark.