Whole batch of molly and guppy juveniles died over night.

ScandiDefense

Hi everyone. Unfortunately something bad happened again to my tanks and i need some help.

I have been breeding guppies and black mollies for a few months now. I would place the newborn fries in a small tank for a few weeks (until they are about the same size like my adult tetras) and then i would transfer them to a bigger tank and there they will spend a few more weeks with my adult tetras before they get big enough and get shifted to the adult molly tank.

My first batch of black mollies have grown up and i have placed them in the adult tank alongside the adult mollies (their parents). 

The guppies that gave birth to my 1st generation of guppies have all passed on. And all of a sudden my 1st generation of juvenile guppies started dying in large numbers (in the tetra tank). They would grow to a certain size and when they reached that size then they would die. And since most of them are born at around the same time, a lot of them reached that "certain size" at the same time and then they died. I can't seem to find the reason for the cause of death.

My 2nd batch of black mollies juveniles is also experiencing this same strange thing. They reach a certain size and then they would die. The adult tetras that share the tanks with them are doing fine. Happily swimming around as if nothing is wrong.

Btw, i change my waters once a week. All tanks are bare bottom and i am using a simple sponge filter. A friend of mine said it could be due to bad genetics. I desperately wanna know what i am doing wrong here.  I want to stop the unnecessary dying!!! Thank you so much in advance. 

Hi, so sorry, that really sucks. I'm wondering do you test the water in the grow out tank? Can you tell us what the parameters are.