What is this?

Q50RedSport

I got this tin foil barb from my friend. I've had it for a couple months but now it's developing this. Sorry I don't have clearer pics. The other fish are fine including the other tin foil. I'm treating the pond with PraziPro just in case. I have the sick fish quarantined and I have 0.3% salt and using Kanaplex and Metroplex. I'm very new in the hobby so I'm not sure if I'm treating it correctly.  

20230402161559345.jpg

I got better pictures. The black spots on top were already there. I'm guessing they are nitrate burns? He was keeping two of these 10-12" in a 40g tank and never tested the water ever. Water changes once a month. Oh and this fish was flashing a lot on the bottom of pond and on top of other fish.

IMG_0780.jpg

IMG_0781.jpg

IMG_0782.jpg

Edited by Q50RedSport

It could a tumor or benign growth with the redding there could be a secondary bacterial infections I would do a full course of kanaplex and leave the salt for a week if your seeing no progress after  a full course of kanaplex give us an update 

• 3 weeks later...
On 4/20/2023 at 11:27 PM, Q50RedSport said:

I actually have one Sicce Shark ADV 800 with bubbles and a sponge filter and an airstone.

OK.  I see the ADV, but not the air.  Consider adding more.  Let's see what Colu says for next steps while the fish is given a break and a chance to recover a bit.

If the fish has constantly been in salt, then stop using it, give the fish air, clean water, time to recover.  Please be sure you're testing water parameters.

On 4/21/2023 at 6:54 AM, Q50RedSport said:

I did three doses of Kanaplex and two weeks of Metroplex so far. I think I have two more doses left of Metroplex left in the bottle. Do you think he's getting better? 

IMG_0875.jpg