Advice needed on breeding mop for peppered corys

KittenFishMom

I am breeding some peppered corys in a rather bare tank. I have added some small plants and driftwood. The female seems to spend a lot of time looking for the right place to lay the eggs. I bought a green yard spawning mop. I have never used one before.  I'm wondering about the best placement (floating sinking drifting) and if the eggs can hatch in the mop and the fry can find their way out. I don't want to collect the eggs.

Any advice is very welcome !

Thanks

mops.jpg.ca797b986324b56c4bc677312cf461b8.jpg

• Like 1

On 3/18/2023 at 9:33 AM, KittenFishMom said:

I'm wondering about the best placement (floating sinking drifting) and if the eggs can hatch in the mop and the fry can find their way out. I don't want to collect the eggs.

I'm a fan of placing mops in a fixed position closer to the surface than the tank floor and in the direction of water flow like the outflow from a filter. The cory species I've bred so far have all shown a preference for depositing eggs in a region with some distinct water flow. Not 100% of the eggs end up there, but a solid majority. Regarding eggs left to hatch on the mop, I think you'll find that the fry can find their way out, especially if the mop is moving around a bit because of the water movement. On the other hand, some eggs placed in a great spot initially can get covered and smothered as the strands shift.

• Thanks 1

On 3/18/2023 at 9:33 AM, KittenFishMom said:

I'm wondering about the best placement (floating sinking drifting) and if the eggs can hatch in the mop and the fry can find their way out. I don't want to collect the eggs.

I put a small rock in the end and let the "tails" float up. I also tend to try shorter or longer ones to see what's easiest for them.